About O levels

The General Certificate of Education Ordinary Level (O level) was a qualification offered from 1951 until the introduction of the General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE) in 1986. You can find out more information about O levels below.

Why choose UKAP International GCSEs

Our qualifications have been designed in collaboration with subject experts, teachers and university professors, to ensure that the content and assessment methods are appropriate and will enable successful progression for learners.

Explore our subject pages to find out what support we offer in your subject. You will have access to materials to help you get started teaching the course, subject advisors to answer your subject-specific questions, free training and much more - all designed to help you support your students to reach their full potential,

The design of our qualifications has been approved by a panel of World Class Qualification experts, a panel unique to UKAP, who have ensured that our qualifications represent international best practice. We have also embedded transferable skills support throughout our qualifications, providing students with the opportunity to gain a wider set of skills through our academic curriculum, important for successful progression to A Levels, university study and employment.

O level qualifications

The O level qualification was developed to accompany the A-level qualification and allowed students to demonstrate their academic ability, as well as prepare themselves for an advanced level of learning.

O levels were exam based and available in academic subjects. 

AS (Advanced Subsidiary) and A (Advanced) levels.

AS and A levels -

sometimes called General Certificates of Education (GCE) or Advanced levels - are normally studied after level 2 in a UKAP or GCSEs, but you can take them at any age. They mainly involve studying the theory of a subject combined with some investigative work and are usually studied full-time over two years at school or college. AS and A levels are at level 3 on the National Qualifications Framework.

AS levels generally take one year to complete and A levels are studied across two years. Generally, students progress to AS and A levels in the academic year following their GCSE results, but you can take them at any age.

When the new AS and A levels were introduced.  AS and A levels were decoupled in England so that AS level results no longer count towards an A level and the AS level becomes a stand-alone qualification. Our International GCSE family offers world-class qualifications for UK and international students.

UKAP International GCSEs are studied in over 50 countries worldwide and at over 350 independent schools in the UK. Available in more than 300 subjects, they are equivalent, grade for grade, to UK GCSEs.

Go to top