Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF)

The QCF is an accessible framework providing flexible routes to full qualifications.

Every unit and qualification in the QCF has a credit value that tells you how long it takes to complete – one credit represents 10 hours’ work.

Each unit and qualification has its own level, between Entry level and level 8. The level indicates the challenge or complexity of the qualification with level 3 being equivalent to ‘A’ levels and level 8 being equivalent to PhD.

The combined credit value of a qualification dictates the size:

  • Award (1 to 12 credits)
  • Certificate (13 to 36 credits)
  • Diploma (37 credits or more)



Go to top